Our little piece of the world

A mother, wife, and teacher aims to make life simple

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Not too long ago, I came across this post about how to make your own laundry detergent. Not being one to look a cheap-laundry-solution in the mouth, I thought I’d give it a try. I’m certain that my husband thought that I was completely insane as I grated the bar of soap on the cheese grater and mixed all the ingredients in a gallon-bucket, but he did keep saying how good it smelled.

I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well this soap has worked, and I do a lot of really dirty laundry (I am the mother of a two year old afterall). I got two very large jars of laundry detergent out of the deal, and I got to get rid of the ugly cardboard box in my laundry room… and yes.. it does smell better in there as well. I’m excited to see how long the soap will last. I do a lot of laundry and you only have to use a (heaping) tablespoon.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. brandemae on said:

    Reblogged this on Brande Mae's Kitchen and commented:
    I have been hearing about homemade laundry detergent everywhere lately. A good friend of mine – with three dirt loving kids has been using homemade detergent for about 6 months and is loving it. I finally got her recipe and am making my own this weekend. I can’t wait to see how it works with my HE washer.

Leave a Reply

