Our little piece of the world

A mother, wife, and teacher aims to make life simple

Why I love my slow-cooker

A few years ago, the year my husband and I got married, my mom bought me a slow cooker for Christmas. This was at a stage in my life where I didn’t cook much but I was happy to get it, thinking it would save me some time and that I would be able to cook a little bit more easily.

Boy, did I ever underestimate things.

It didn’t take long for me to fall completely in love with my slow cooker. I remember the conversation with my mom very clearly

Me: “so I can just throw some food in there in the morning, turn it on, and dinner will be ready when I get home?”

Mom: “yep”

Me: “and it will all be cooked enough so it won’t kill me”

Mom: “yep”

Me: “That sounds too good to be true. ”

Mom: “yep

I got to the point where I used my slow cooker at least once a week, usually more. I fell even more in love once my son came on the scene and I became a working mom. The feeling of coming home after a long day at work and getting to play with my son instead of slaving over a hot stove was absolutely priceless.

…and then it broke.

I came home one day and the stoneware in my slow cooker had cracked, leaving the food inside dried out and the rest of it essentially ruined. It was one of the saddest moments in my culinary life (almost as sad as when I discovered that there was no good recipe for avocado fries). I promptly looked for a replacement for the stoneware but discovered that the company no longer made that particular model, so I couldn’t get a replacement for the stoneware.

Today I finally bit the bullet and bought a new one, and will be making taco soup for dinner tomorrow in celebration (one of our favourites).

The slow cooker saves us time, money, and electricity… what more could we want?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

